Strap line 2015

OnOffice Banner JAN 300x130 2 

Washington chair by David Adjaye for Knoll International SixE chair by PearsonLloyd for Howe Olly Stool by Junction Fifteen Supporto chair by Frederic Scott for Zoeftig Concave bookcase by Simon Pengelly for Joined+Jointed
19 Sep 2014

Simon Pengelly, Steuart Padwick, Marie Dessuant and emerging stars David Lord and Ben Frost of Junction Fifteen were among the designers presented with Design Guild Mark awards last night at 100% Design. The Furniture Makers’ Company give the awards each year for excellence in furniture design for volume production. Pengelly received two prizes, for the Concave Bookcase for Joined+Jointed and the Norse Chair for Modus Furniture, as did PearsonLloyd, with the SixE chair for Howe and the Riya chair for Bene. Lord and Frost won for the Olly stool, launched as part of Junction Fifteen’s debut collection at London Design Festival 2013. 

Other award winners include Industrial Facility’s Sam Hecht and Kim Colin for the Wireframe sofa for Herman Miller; David Adjaye for Knoll’s Washington Collection; and the late Frederic Scott, for the Supporto Chair for Zoeftig.

Dessuant received the prize for Desk Three for Another Country, while Padwick won for the Fonteyn dressing table for Made.

The judging panel, chaired by Graham Jones, included Jeremy Myerson from the RCA’s Helen Hamlyn Foundation, design journalist Barbara Chandler and Simon Alderson of twentytwentyone.

Myerson said of this year’s crop: ““If you want to put your finger on the pulse of British furniture design, then the Design Guild Mark judging is the place to do it. The 2014 session was full of ideas, energy, talent and skill - and we gave the Mark to some great work.”


newsletter 2015